2017 Thus Far

While Christmas had it’s ups and downs (fun, flu, family), New Year’s was equal parts forgettable and disappointing.

It used to be so fun. We had an uncle who’s birthday was the 31st or 1st (can’t remember now and not sure if I ever knew). We’d pack the family van and drive to Pennsylvania, birthplace of my parents and current abode for almost their entire families still. We’d spend Christmas at my Grandfather’s mobile home park and have food and family time in the rec center where we exchanged gifts. The week would be spent drifting in and out of aunts’ and uncles’ homes. We always spent New Year’s at Uncle Steve’s setting off fireworks and chasing each other around with sparklers.

The years we didn’t make it PA, when we lived in California or Louisiana or Pap had died, we’d still stay up late and celebrate the close of one year and welcome the next. I went to parties. I had friends.

And then I became an adult and went to “better” parties and had different friends. And it was always Natalie’s birthday on the 31st so we always made plans to get together. We even drove to Asheville for celebration and frivolity when she moved.

And then we had a baby. Last year, I barely made it to midnight with a sleeping Hannah on my shoulder. I had returned to work by that point but Hannah was still only 2 months old. This year, at 14 months, I hoped and prayed I’d be asleep and that Hannah would stay that way no matter how many fireworks the neighborhood deployed. Not to mention, the Christmas flu that took out my parents and daughter caught up to Shelby and I on Thursday so we were still pretty exhausted come Saturday night from a weekend of parenting a toddler while flu-y.

I think I fell asleep at about 10:30? I know I fell asleep on the couch and then hoisted my behind up to bed. At not quite midnight, Hannah awoke with her typical (these days) shrieking and I didn’t have the energy to get out of bed. Shelby marched up the stairs and started pacing around with her. She quieted quickly. He brought her into bed and that is how we spent the changing of the year; husband and wife with a tiny life nestled between them.

She was fast asleep by 12:30 or so (I think. Honestly all the days/nights run together anymore) and I was able to sneak her back into the crib. She slept until 8:30 New Year’s Day.

And since then, the flu appears to have left our house. I’ve returned to work. We’re piecing together some semblance of normality after the closing of the theater and the family vacation. Hannah cut another molar. We have yet to take down decorations or unpack the bags.

I’m hopeful that 2017 will be better than 2016, but I’m not setting any expectations. I’m hopeful my moods will stabilize and Hannah will continue to be happy and healthy. I’m hopeful that Shelby can find something outside of the home that will make him happy. I am hopeful.

Leave a Reply

