Medically Relevant

You may remember that this one time, I got pregnant. And while I was very diligent about the prenatal appointments, everything else sorta fell by the wayside. I was already spending sooooooooo much time out of the office and just couldn’t muster the energy to do anything else. It’s been a little over a year, and I am finally getting caught up on all my “me” things.

I got my hair cut. This may not seem like a big thing, but it felt epic. I need it cut again, we’ll see if that happens before Christmas. I got my feet did for my sister’s wedding in the Spring. This also felt epic. I went to a regular old Dr. appointment in the summer. They initially wagged a finger while tutting at me about the length of time between visits, but I casually dropped in that I’d had a baby and all was forgiven.

I have an eye appointment today. This will be the first time I’ve been to the eye doctor since like, 2014? Maybe. It will be great to see again. And hopefully it will help with the headaches and squinting. I also got Shelby scheduled for an eye appointment. He’s been in need of glasses forever and finally relented after trying to read video game instructions off the TV. Yay brainiacs!

Last up, I need a dental appointment. I know my youngest sister is screaming at the computer screen but no, I have not been to the dentist since roughly a month before the last time I went to the eye doctor. I’m sure my teeth are in a pathetic state given the uptick in sensitivity and the likely damage caused by morning sickness, calcium sucking fetus, calcium sucking nursing baby, and the lack of calcium consumed to minimize the resulting amount of baby barf. I don’t feel like my teeth are going to fall out, but …

When I was younger, (let me do some maths real quick. I worked at KB toys so I was in college but living at home so around 20???) I broke a tooth. I did it by chewing on an M&M. Um, yeah. I had to get a root canal that was botched and required another root canal that I am still not convinced was done right and I do not want to have to do that again. Ever. So though my mouth mostly feels fine, and the only “symptoms” I have of crappy mouth situation are sensitivity to breathing cold air and sipping extreme hot soup or beverages, I still squeeze my eyes tight and hold my breath whenever I chomp down on something hard waiting for the sound and taste of a busted tooth. So maybe I should go get that checked out.

Babies. Is there anything they don’t wreck?

Leave a Reply

