Of Cereal and Sadness

I have no qualms about people holding my child. Please do. She loves to be snuggled up to you as long as she can look out, so your back can carry the load for a minute while I soak in her ludicrously cute face.

I also have no issue with people dressing her up or changing her diaper. Again, please do! Feel free to apply creams or use 50 wipes and give her a new outfit with every dipe change.

And speaking of outfits, I will put her in just about anything. She’s been called a boy on a few moose/monkey nephew hand me down days but no one cares. I’ve even been known to allow her to wear pink. She’s warm and happy so whatevs.

Where I draw the line, where my super sensitive mommy alarm starts blaring, is where you start messing with the what when why and how my daughter eats.

Is this weird? Normal? Like, I even have to check myself when my husband (my husband who is with her all day and does the feeding thing while I’m at work) makes a decision without my expressed consent. Even the idea that someone would suggest solids or which solids or when to feed solids is enough to spike my blood pressure. So I find myself in a bit of a pickle.

We started her on cereal. It’s the early end of the suggested time frame for initiating solids. I wasn’t in a super hurry to start paying for food for her but neither was I particularly concerned with food allergies. We’d sorta kinda gotten the sleep thing under control, at least we had a routine that worked for us, but there were some nights when it seemed she was constantly at the tap. Then she had a one day growth spurt (or something cuz whoa). She normally has about 15 oz of pumped breastmilk a day while I’m at the office. This particular day, Shelby had to thaw another 3 oz and this still didn’t seem to satisfy her. She was attached to me most of the evening. While sitting with us at dinner, she kept trying to take Shelby’s chicken from his plate. She’d been showing some other signs that she was ready so I gave in and asked if we should give it a try.

Boy did she take to cereal like a fish to water. We feed her rice cereal once a day, usually late evening before bed (8ish). I suppose I should be better about measuring it, but she gets about 1 oz of breast-milk with enough cereal to keep it sorta applesauce texture, maybe a little wetter. She drinks it off the spoon and then like a little baby bird, opens her mouth for more. And then she’ll stop opening her mouth for more. I offer the spoon a few more times to make sure she wasn’t just distracted by the shiny shiny but I don’t force her to take more if she doesn’t seem interested. And her sleeping has been pretty much the same. No significant changes other than it doesn’t take her as long to fall asleep and she hasn’t had a bender night in a while.

So what’s the problem?

She’s stopped taking bottles during the day. I don’t have much more information than that. Not sure if she’s getting fed cereal during the day, if she’s getting more oz per feeding and feeding less, or if she has straight up decided she is not drinking out of that thing anymore thank you very much. What do I do? The pediatrician says she’s fine – “perfect” (they have got to stop using that word ;)) but that was when she had been on “solids” for about 3 days and was still taking her bottles. Will she grow out of this hunger strike? Is this a hunger strike? Should we try feeding her more solids? Less? She’s only 4 months old, I’m not ready to wean her. She needs to drink my milk dammit – its a crucial portion of my weight loss routine!

Babies. Just stop being weird and do what I tell you to, Hannah. You are not the boss.

Leave a Reply

