Out With the Old

  1. What did you do in 2015 that you’ve never done before?

Had a baby. Nuff said. (Except I say a lot more about it in many of the following questions.)

  1. Did you keep your resolutions?

I don’t recall making any. Therefore, I doubt I kept any. Though I did start a new job, got a new house, and expanded my family, all of which were on my list of life improvement strategies.

  1. What new lives brought you joy?

Hannah Beatrice, my daugter!  Holy crap you guys, when she is not crying she is the most adorable. And when she is crying, she is only slightly less adorable and my heart shatters for her. She actually produces big wet tears.

She does this thing with her arms, my husband says she needs maracas and he is totally right. She’s stealing noses like nobody’s business. And she smiles at me. And her short little legs. And her long fingers. And her deep blue eyes. And oh my goodness her thighs. Her tiny adorable ears. And her expanding bald spot surrounded by hair long enough to curl over her tiny adorable ears. And…And…And…sweetest face

  1. For whom did you grieve, if anyone?

Thankfully, I was not affected by human loss, but my head and heart are still heavy with thoughts of Bella. I miss her so much.

  1. Did you travel anywhere exciting?

Negative. Unless you count the labor & delivery room, which I don’t.

  1. What would you like to have in 2016 that you lacked in 2015?

Wine. It was a long stretch of sobriety y’all. Now that the babe is outside instead of in, I am able to reunite with an old friend. Hello wine, did you miss me?

  1. What are your most memorable moments of 2015?

In no particular order:

Baby – as in discovery and delivery of.

Baby showers.

Rain showers on the back porch with my mom and Hannah.

Bella’s rapid illness and subsequent death. (Memorable doesn’t always mean good.)

Dr. Patterson’s med school graduation.

Closing on a new house.

Transfer to a new job (and the freakin awesome conversation I had regarding my transfer date).

Early mornings with Hannah, just her and me.

  1. What was your bravest moment and/or biggest achievement of the year?

Beating a dead horse…but…I had a baby? Actually going to the hospital to be induced was pretty brave. I guess also the whole having a baby while moving into a new home while making improvements on an old home to rent (please rent my old home) could be considered a pretty big achievement. A brave and possibly faulty decision, choosing to rent our old place rather than sell.

  1. What was your biggest failure and/or disappointment?

I am still so super fat. I know it has only been two months, but it has already been two months. Aren’t these pounds supposed to just slip away if I’m nursing? And I am still super gross. Stupid pimples. And stretch marks I didn’t know were there since you appeared underneath my flappy belly fat. I am disappointed in myself post-baby. “Give it time.” Give me a break. I spent 32 years figuring out my body, and then 8-9 months re-figuring out what the new pregnancy normal was. I’m tired. Just go back to regular. No? Not regular? I gotta figure this all out again? Grrrrrrrrrr. Pass the Oreos.

  1. Any memorable lapses in wellness?  (Illness, injury, etc.?)

I got in a car accident, but it was very minor. I also got Cholestasis. But otherwise had one of the most healthy years ever, I don’t even think I had a cold.

  1. Where did most of your money go?

Ummmm…….did I mention I had a baby? And bought a house? While still owning a second house? We broke.

  1. Is there a song or pop culture moment that will forever remind you of 2015?

Pretty much tuned most of that out. But maybe the great dress debate? Is it blue and black? Or white and gold? The world may never know. (It’s totally blue and black. I saw a thing with the lady who actually took the original picture. Suckers.)

  1. Compared to this time last year are you (a) happier or sadder? (b) heavier or lighter? (c) richer or poorer?

(a) Generally happier, when I can get the postpartum crap under control.

(b) Heavier.  I haven’t weighed myself since my six week postpartum appointment, but at that time I was still the heaviest I have ever been un-pregnant. I have no clothes.

(c) Totally poorer in money, richer in quality of life. The money thing is temporary though (fingers crossed). We will get out from under one of our mortgages one way or another, the hit from the first time home buyer credit on our taxes will just be a one time thing that will hopefully be countered somewhat by the birth of a new dependant, and the medical bills are already mostly paid. And then we can start to rebuild our savings. But it was all totally worth it (except the townhouse so far. We’ll see, money pit better get someone in there soon!).

  1. How did you spend (a) Mardi Gras, (b) Easter, (c) Fourth of July, (d) Thanksgiving, (e) Christmas, and (f) New Years’ Eve?

(a) We did the usual – nothing.  (b) I think Shelby made a ham since I started eating meat again.  (c) Went to Bynum for a pot-luck with friends and fireworks on the bridge.  (d) Made a ludicrously large turkey that we ate for several days. Spent our first holiday as a new family totally alone. Which was nice, and also depressing.  (e) Christmas with the in-laws at our house.  (f) I took a nap just so I could stay up til midnight. Drank one glass of champagne while we watched re-runs of The Simpsons. It didn’t take long for me to get totally comfortable in momville.

  1. Any new loves/friends/positive forces in your life?

Hannah. And our new neighbors. They are simply some of the nicest people I’ve ever met. In a borderline creepy kind of way. Like, we’ll either get along swimmingly or end up tied up in their basement. Wish us luck!

  1. What was your favorite tv and/or movie?

I think the only movie I saw in theaters in 2015 (that I can remember) was Antman which I thought was fun. As for TV, not surprisingly, I got a lot of Netflix in over the last few months. I started and finished Master of None. Caught up on the second season of Broadchurch. Finished NCIS and Criminal Minds. Ditched Bones though. Found a new TV show I’m still trying to decide about, though largely I think I like it. Blue Bloods. I’d describe it as sort of an amalgamation of The Wire, NYPD Blue, and Law & Order (the original) with Tom Selleck.

We also just found the Almost Impossible Gameshow from the UK. That crap is just bananas.

In the world of cable television, I have watched Castle. (It’s OK but somewhat lacking compared to other series in the genre. I’m a sucker for Nathan Fillion though.) I’m addicted to COPS. Forensic Files. Modern Family. And Pawn Stars. I actually have learned useful information from that show.

(All of this TV is quite literally since Hannah was born. I barely watched before she came as I was either packing, resting, or working.)

  1. What was your favorite book?

I packed most of my books early so read a lot of garbage that I found at work or wherever. But I did read the new Flavia novel “As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust”.

  1. What did you want and get?

Some change in the area of work/life balance!

  1. What did you want and not get?

Medication free natural birth. But, the induction was the best thing for the baby and the epidural was regrettable, but not detrimental so…

  1. What did you do on your birthday?

My husband took a newly pregnant me to brunch which I largely kept down! And then I feel like I had rehearsal or a performance and probably went to bed early. Cuz 2015 was exciting like that.

  1. Anything notable in your fashion or appearance in 2015?

Pregnancy highwaters! AKA an astounding array of capris pants.

  1. What kept you sane?

Well if this doesn’t make me sound horrible – keeping tight control over all the things. Focusing on the houses and the cat and the baby and all the stuff that went along with it would drive most people insane, but having all those things on my plate (plus learning a new job) gave me purpose and drive. It helped me succeed at all of those things in a way I don’t think I would have if I had been less busy. CONTROL CONTROL CONTROL. That should have been my middle name.

  1. Anything in the political arena you care to recall?

Nope. Don’t even know what’s happening. Except Trump. It’s hard not to know about Trump. But I have no opinions I care to express.

  1. Who did you miss?

Everyone ever. Bella. My emotions have been kind of a wreck the past few months. Gee, I wonder why that could be.

  1. Closing remarks?  Life lessons/morals/catch phrases, etc.?

Be careful what you wish for? Cuz you might get all of it at one time. A good catch phrase of the year for me is “It’s a good thing you’re cute.” This comes in handy when the husband (and now daughter) try my patience. Which is surprisingly hard to do.

Leave a Reply

