Mele Kalikimaka

Christmas was delightful.

Depending on the day and my schedule, Hannah will sleep in the morning if we let her. Christmas Day was the first day off since returning to work, so I wasn’t sure how that was going to go down schedule-wise, but it worked out reeeeeeeally well. My alarm went off at 6 but didn’t wake her so I let us sleep. She started stirring around 7:30 so I went ahead and pulled her into the bed with me for breakfast after which she nodded off so I let her stay in the crook of my arm where Bella used to sleep. We stayed that way until about 9. “Christmas Cuddles” is now officially a part of our Christmas routine. Totally approved by the husband and everything.

We got her dressed and headed downstairs where her grandparents had been waiting patiently for almost 5 hours. We elected to have breakfast first so that we wouldn’t get hangry (hungry + angry) mid gift opening. A full breakfast of biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage, and bacon later, we gathered around the tree for the main event. Hannah slept some more.

We got a lot of nice things. The babe got some cool new gear as well. Though she is completely set at this point, her daddy just couldn’t let her first Christmas go by without getting her a little something so he bought a plush Grover and a Teddy Bear that are about the same size as her. I made Grover wave to her and she smiled. Adorbs.

We did little else on Christmas Day. It was hot. Like, dripping sweat kinda hot. And the recent rain did not help with the humidity. We almost broke down and turned on the AC but my MIL was walking around in a blanket so we made do with fans.

Saturday and Sunday were much more active. Our new stove, sink, over the range microwave, and garbage disposal arrived. Over both days, our handy-man friend came over and installed them all for us. (All that’s left are a few cosmetic touches.) I took Hannah my MIL to the outlets to get a new purse. Holy crow was that place packed! My sister drove up for a whirlwind visit and got some good snuggles in.

And now I am back at work. With some actual assignments. That I had better go and do.

Leave a Reply

