First Day of Autumn

Each season has a special place in my soul. I adore the summer, the promise of adventure and the beachyness. Spring houses my birthday and the birthdays of half my siblings; and the emerging greenery and flowers are enough to lift any mood. Winter is effortless in giving me excuses to snuggle in, dress in full coverage clothing, play in the snow. And duh, Christmas, hello.

But this, this is the first day of my favoritest season ever. There are so many things to love about the fall. The colors, the textures, the tastes, the nip in the air, hoodies in front of a log fire. The days and nights when you can open the windows and let in the chill. Changing leaves and butternut squash soup. Butternut squash ravioli. Pretty much butternut squash everything. Halloween.

We got married in the fall. We’ll welcome our new little bundle in the fall. Today, Wednesday, I am very much looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

