More Cancer

What can I say when the words have all been stolen
You took my breath away with the secrets you’ve been holdin
Now the world is grey and the cart’s been set in motion
But the wheels have fallen off

One of my favorite directors just told us that he has a brain tumor. And while they think it is benign, he has still convinced himself that he is going to die. And having already lost the mental battle does not bode well for his future.

From a strictly work related stand-point, he annoys the heck out of me. But his annoyance is a direct result of his kind heart and belief in everyone. I get stacks of resumes from this man; for his positions, for other positions, for anything we may have available. Resumes from his jeweler, from the son of his childhood friend, from his college roommate’s sister, from the guy mulching his front yard. But he has spoken to each of these people. He has not only sold the company to them, but has bragged on me as one of the best HR folks he’s ever worked with. By the time I talk to them, they are so gracious for a chance to speak to what they call the infamous HR Recruiter.

And he is genuinely nice. And not the fake kind of how was your day? great lets talk about me. He has tried to come to my shows (but they have all been sold out by the time he calls). He remembers my wedding anniversary (at least generally) and calls me Sadie Sadie the married lady. His motto should be, if you can say something nice, talk as much as you like because boy can he talk, and boy does he have good things to say about everyone.

And he has a mouse face. With a little push-broom mustache. He reminds me of the mice from that old Christmas cartoon, what was it, Frosty? No! ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas!

He is a joy to be around even when he is exhausting. And I hope he can change his mind and get through whatever treatment they prescribe for him. Because the world needs more people like him.

Leave a Reply

