Spoilt

The bloom may wear off the rose eventually, but for now, I am a spoiled rotten princess and I am loving every minute of it.

You may recall that the Huz mislocated his job at the end of Feb. I am not sure if he is feeling guilty or has truly found his calling, but he is a top-notch stay at home husband. My house has never been so clean and organized. The turnaround time on my underwear alone is enough to give me whiplash. He’s cleaned cracks, crevices, the baseboards behind the toilets, the cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling, the junk drawers, the closets, the fridge…I could go on but you get the idea. We still need to paint and stage but on the whole, the house is getting pretty close to list worthy. He even bought the part we needed to replace in the fridge door!

Every night when I come home dinner is either waiting for me or about to be. On the occasions it is still being prepared, my wine is poured, my efforts to help are thwarted and I am directed to change, put my feet up and play my iPad until dinner is ready. Every night, the dishes are loaded into the dishwasher and the kitchen is cleaned. By the time I wake up every day, my abandoned work clothes from the day before have been hung or folded (or in some cases even washed!), my water bottle has been refilled, and my travel coffee mug has been rinsed and set by the K-Cup machine for me. Sometimes I have a lunch packed.

Household tasks went from a divide and hope to conquer situation to totally taken care of without another thought. The plants are watered, the laundry is handled, the recycling and trash are emptied into the big bins periodically (as in before they are massively overflowing) and the bins are taken down to the curb. The cat is either well fed or isn’t concerned about it and it’s hard to tell because I haven’t had to empty her litter box in over a month. Even the mail is collected routinely.

The plants have been moved outside and the spare bedroom has been staged. Now that the plants are out, we can also stage the front room. The kitchen cupboards have been cleaned out and are ready for new liners. The walls are washed and doors painted downstairs. There’s still some work to do, but at the rate he’s going, I won’t have to do any of it. 😉

Leave a Reply

