2 Steps Forward, 2 Steps Back

I have been on a mission to de-clutter the house. Not only to make it better to live in, but to free up storage space, get the tax credit for donations, and make it within the realm of possibility that we can show it at some point. My husband is adamantly opposed, subconsciously.

PART I

If I’m remembering this correctly, a friend of my sister was ready for some new furniture so she thoughtfully sold my sister a few of her old pieces. These included a full size bed frame and a cat scratched saggy middle couch. That was about 10 years ago. I still have that couch. It still sags in the middle, and it has now lost a foot. And I have the taped together bed frame with cross boards that don’t quite fit. It’s in our guest room. I nailed the boards down as best I could, but who knows what types of shenanigans our overnight guests get up to.

Add to this the pink chairs. These are swivel rockers in the shape of recliners but don’t recline. Like at all. I nicknamed them the tin soldier chairs because you have to sit like a tin soldier. They had some history in relation to my Brother-In-Law but ended up in my possession once the two houses joined. They’ve been joined for about 7 years now, and still the pink chairs reside with me.

At a similar time, I also inherited a small “dinner” table and 3 matching chairs. I seem to recall that these were rescued from a dumpster, hence the 3 chairs instead of 4. I tried getting rid of the table a few years ago, but something in me only threw away the legs. We still have the table top. Cuz you never know when that will come in handy. 2 of the 3 chairs are still with us, though one of them is so wiggly, we don’t allow guests to sit in it. It really serves as the “holder for our junk” as we enter the house. Cuz the other crappy table (which I haven’t even mentioned yet) isn’t good enough for that. Actually, the wiggly chair is also partly responsible for my poker/thumb debacle of last weekend. It should feel lucky that I didn’t chuck it immediately.

Among the other pieces of crappy furniture are the aforementioned entryway table which is a hand me down of my parents, 3 remaining stools of the original 5 that were also parental hand me downs, a coffee table I stole from summer camp when I was in college, a desk that my boss almost threw away but didn’t, a dresser I stupidly bought from Craig’s list that hardly opens or closes its drawers correctly (and has cat face drawer pulls which I didn’t see until I brought it home and showed the Huz),  and another curbside dump rescue dresser with cardboard drawer bottoms, mismatched drawer pulls, and two drawers we can’t open.

We can get rid of these anytime we want. We have curbside service. We simply place any of these items on our front lawn before our Tuesday garbage pick-up, and the special notation is made for a bulk truck to pick up that item on Wednesday. Some of these things even fit in our industrial trash can. We don’t sit on the couch, we don’t use the chairs for anything more than a cat perch or junk collector. We can live without these things.

But apparently, my husband can’t. He wants to keep everything or replace it now.

We are locked in an irresolvable debate. Both sides make too much sense. On the one hand, we can clear out a bunch of unused furniture and give our home the illusion space which is necessary for selling. We can buy new furniture that matches our new home; but then we have to add the cost of new furniture on to a new house. And though we don’t really use it, we do occasionally have guests that would like a place to sit. If we lose the pink chairs as seating options, we had better put something else there for our guests to rest their buns upon in the event we don’t magically sell our house incredibly quickly. On the other hand, we can start to shed pieces now and replace them with pieces we prefer, pieces that make us feel like responsible grown-ups instead of really old, poor, college drop-outs. Pieces that would be attractive in the sale of a house; but that doesn’t resolve the issue of lack of space when looking to sell.

We have upgraded a few things that gave us little spurts of energy, but have only highlighted our minor hoarding tendencies. We bought and assembled a beautiful computer cabinet. It has a display shelf where we’ve placed wedding memorabilia, family pictures, and a few respectable trinkets. The Huz’s original apple computer is tucked away happily inside. (Another thing we could get rid of except he has no way to extract his extensive iTunes library from that monstrosity.) This was meant to replace the desk my boss almost threw away but didn’t, but instead that got moved into the guest bedroom. We bought a few “adult” lamps and immediately developed a hatred for our bedroom furniture. (My first ever grown adult purchase was a queen bed and 1 matching bedside table when I first moved into my own apartment. Since I didn’t make much money, I went with one of the cheapest. Both pieces were about $500, including the mattress and bedsprings. It’s not what I would pick out today.) Shoobs wants a king bed for us, keep the queen for a guest room, but won’t let us get rid of the full because it would be good for another guest room. So we haven’t done anything about that, cuz where are we going to put an extra bed right now?

Anyway, this back and forth is really exhausting. How do we move forward when we can’t let go? I’ll tell you right now, it’s going to be a pretty hairy spring cleaning this year.

Leave a Reply

