Hmmmm

And I’m bored at work. And my boss is on vacation. And so you have to deal with me for a minute.

I’m supposed to go to lunch with my new work friend today. I don’t know where to go. But it is a beautiful day out there today so wherever it is, we are sitting outside because I said so.

Let’s talk about the cat. I know you are just waiting for an update, so I shall now provide it to you. There are times when I look at her and she feels like a grown-up cat. Other times, she looks like a super awkward teenager cat. And still sometimes she looks like a large kitten. She has clearly chosen my lab over Shelby’s, a fact which neither of understands as there is usually far more room on his lap than mine. And maybe that’s the point. Maybe she is trying to remind me that there is more to life than work and iPads. What a smart kitten.

I have had minor complaints that she sleeps on me. She has also taken to scratching under the bed lately which typically results in a loud shouty outburst from either myself or Shelby. We’re thinking of locking her out of the bedroom, but neither of us has the heart to do so. But then I woke up last night and she was nowhere to be found. Most of you know by now that she escaped earlier this week. If you don’t know that, now you do. She had scratched her pad and pulled the front door open. I came down at about 10:30-11p and saw the door wide open. Neither of us could remember seeing her recently, so I grabbed the ounce and rushed out the door. She wasn’t far, I found her in just a few minutes, but still, it happened.

So at 4 this morning when she was not sleeping on me, nor was she near Shelby, nor could I recall the last time I saw her, I went into a bit of a panic. I tried calling out to her, nothing. I tried going into the bathroom (because usually as soon as we do, she follows us in to get water from the sink) and she still remained hidden. I tore through the house, upstairs and down, looking for the pounce. After what seemed like ages but was probably a minute thirty, she lumbered from under the table by the couch downstairs, stretching her legs and claws as she came. Having assured myself of her safety, I went upstairs and settled back in, only to have her chase me up the stairs, scratch under the bed, and then hop on my chest and lick my hair. She’s so weird.

And that is my cat update.

Shelby also cooked with our first round of cayenne peppers last night. Delicious! We are going to have a lot though, so maybe Cor will get some when I come up to visit her. Maybe by then I’ll have some more red tomatoes as well!

One thought on “Hmmmm

  1. Corrie

    MMMM, i can find something to put cayenne on/in. Never really ate them whole, but if that’s what you suggest, i’m game.

Leave a Reply

